summer

Burch Library Top 10 Summer Reading Picks

It’s summertime and the reading’s easy at the Collierville Burch Library! Did you know that reading is one of the most effective ways to overcome stress? Or that frequent reading can decrease your rate of mental decline as you age by 32% and increase your ability to remember details? Reading is important no matter your age, and the Collierville Burch Library is here to help you find your next summer read. We have over 125,000 items in our physical collection and thousands of downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines, so we are sure to have something for you! To get you started, here are a few of our top picks for the summer!

 

Adult

  1. When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger – Carrying on the story of Emily Charlton of The Devil Wears Prada fame, When Life Gives You Lululemons is a hilarious and witty book that is sure to be one of the top beach-reads of 2018.
  2. The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware – Ruth Ware has been compared by many to Agatha Christie, and she does not disappoint in her fourth novel. With a twisty plot and artfully crafted characters, The Death of Mrs. Westaway is a great choice for fans of psychological thrillers.
  3. Bring Me Back by B. A. Paris – Telling the story of a disappearance, a lie, and the secrets that refuse to stay buried, Bring Me Back is the third novel from break-out thriller author B.A. Paris. Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.
  4. That Kind of Mother by Rumaan Alam – Rumaan Alam’s second novel is a warm and riveting story about the families we fight to build and those we fight to keep. Recommended for readers who enjoy thought provoking stories about motherhood.
  5. How to Walk Away by Katherine CenterHow to Walk Away is a tender, funny, and hopefully love story about finding joy in the most difficult circumstances. Readers looking for an inspirational summer read with a resilient heroine will not be disappointed.

 

Young Adult

  1. From Twinkle, with Love by Sandhya Menon (June 2018) – In this romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling author Sandhya Menon, an aspiring teen filmmaker finds her voice and falls in love. Told through letters, Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers while navigating big truths about friendship, family, and love.
  2. Price of Duty by Todd Strasser (July 2018) – Jake Liddell is home recovering from an injury, but it seems the war has followed him back. Even though the military is awarding him a Silver Star for his heroic achievements in war, nothing seems to make sense anymore. There is only one thing that Jake knows for certain: he is no hero. From award-winning author Todd Strasser comes a gripping new novel that explores the struggles of war, the price paid by those who fight in them, and what it really means to be a hero.
  3. Not the Girls You’re Looking For by Aminah Mae Safi (June 2018) – Lulu Saad doesn’t need your advice, thank you very much. She’s got her three best friends and nothing can stop her from conquering the known world. Except maybe this time she’s done a little more damage than she realizes. Debut author Aminah Mae Safi’s honest and smart novel is about how easy it can be to hurt those around you even if — especially if — you love them.
  4. Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton (July 2018) – Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written bold novel which is the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.
  5. A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman (June 2018) – Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tales, myths, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries. Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

 


Lucius E. and Elsie C. Burch, Jr. Library is located at 501 Poplar View Pkwy. across the street from the Collierville Town Hall. For hours, holiday closings, or any other questions, please call 901.457.2600 or visit http://colliervillelibrary.org/